There’s no way around it. Phoenix summers are brutal. I’ve lived here for my entire life and it never gets easier. This morning, it was 90 degrees Fahrenheit by 5:30 am. As I type this, I’m enjoying my third Otter Pop of the day and listening to our trusty air conditioner work overtime. While we may not get the snowdrifts in December, this is our cycling off season. IMG_3707Some may say “oh, just toughen up!” However, we have already had 6 heat-related fatalities this year in the Valley of the Sun and “Excessive Heat Warnings” have become the norm. Up to 105 degrees, I can handle. However, over 105 degrees, I believe that it becomes downright dangerous.

According to the CDC,  you need to drink 32 ounces of water per hour during periods of excessive heat. Let’s say you wanted to do a 30 mile ride at 18 mph. You’re going to (conservatively) require nearly 54 ounces of water. That’s more than 2 Podium Chill bottles in less than 2 hours! Cycling after 9 am is simply not an option unless absolutely required.

However, despite the circumstances, I refuse to regress. Nothing brings me more joy than putting down miles on the Roubaix. As a result, I’ll be indoors on the trainer burning through tires. That’s not to say that I won’t get the occasional 4 am ride, but at least I can catch up on my Tour de France coverage and enjoy some EDM for motivation through my earbuds!

